all i had was a common rose

rose

“I thought I was rich, with a flower that was unique in all the world; and all I had was a common rose … the rose that belongs to me … she is more important than all the hundreds of you other roses … it is she that I have watered … put under the glass globe … have sheltered behind the screen … Killed the caterpillars … listened to.”

“What is essential is invisible to the eye. It is the time you have wasted for your rose that makes your rose so important … You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. You are responsible for your rose.”

“What does that mean tame?”

“It is an act too often neglected … It means to establish ties. … If you tame me, then we shall need each other.  To me, you will be unique in all the world.  To you, I shall be unique in all the world … one only understands the things that one tames.”

“One runs the risk of weeping a little, if one lets himself be tamed…And when your sorrow is comforted (time soothes all sorrows) you will be content that you have known me.”

The Little Prince

Antoine de Saint-Exupery

5 Comments

Filed under photography, spirituality, Uncategorized

5 responses to “all i had was a common rose

  1. It’s fitting that a rose symbolizes so much in literature and in life! Great post!

  2. We used the second paragraph here for one of the readings at our wedding…what a special place it has in my heart and a special treat to find it here. Thank you & be well~

    • awe … written words of contemplation and imagination, travel through time and space . . . influence, unify, validate and enlighten. I enjoy visiting your blog .

Leave a Reply

